Use this guide if;
You want to ensure your active Ambassador pool reflects who is available to support prospects at the time
You want to keep your Ambassador details accurate and up to date
You want to maintain consistency on Ambassador profiles
Activating and Deactivating your Ambassadors
We know that your Ambassadors are balancing a lot - their studies, hobbies, social lives, and maybe even casual work besides participating in Unibuddy.
If your Ambassadors need to take a break to focus on their studies, they are away for the summer, or have withdrawn from their duties altogether, here is how to manage their Active/Inactive status in your University Dashboard.
Log into your University Dashboard.
Navigate to the Buddies tab, and select the Manage option.
You can choose Student or Staff at the top of the screen to see relevant Ambassadors.
You can also filter between Active and Inactive Ambassadors.
Identify the ambassadors you want to Activate, or Deactivate, by ticking the checkbox located to the right side of their profile picture thumbnails.
Click the Activate or Deactivate button.
Inactive Ambassadors will no longer appear on your Unibuddy Chat platform, Discover partner platforms, or any traffic drivers embedded across your site - such as Buddy Cards, Pop Cards, or Carousels.
Once reactivated, these ambassadors will reappear on your Chat platform, and will be visible to your prospects and able to receive messages.
đŹ Please note: Deactivating vs archiving an ambassador
Deactivated Staff and Student Ambassadors cannot receive new conversations from prospects. However, if they already have an existing conversation with a prospect, they can continue to receive and reply to messages within that conversation.
If you need to prevent an ambassador from accessing Unibuddy or receiving any messages, including messages from existing conversations, our Support team can archive them for you.
When an ambassador is archived:
They can no longer log in to Unibuddy.
They should no longer receive chat messages.
They will no longer appear in the Buddies tab of the University Dashboard.
Any blog posts they previously created will remain published, but their name and profile photo will no longer be displayed as the author.
Their data is retained, allowing them to be unarchived if they return to the platform in the future.
Deleting an Ambassador
If your Ambassador is graduating and doesn't wish to continue on Unibuddy as an Alumni, you are able to delete them from your Dashboard.
Once you delete an Ambassador, this removes all of their data and conversations - both from their inbox and also in your Dashboard. If you would prefer to keep the conversation data, you can opt to Archive them instead.
To delete an Ambassador account, follow the steps below:
Log into your University Dashboard.
Select the Buddies tab on the navigation panel, and select Manage.
Select the Ambassador using the checkbox to the left of their profile picture thumbnail, then click on the Delete button.
Select Yes on the pop-up to confirm deletion (this action is not reversible).
Editing your Ambassador profile details
Your Ambassador profiles are their opportunity to express what it is that they love about their institution, and what makes them a great fit for a prospect to chat to.
However, now and again you might spot something on an Ambassador profile - an incorrect Year of Study, outdated course or program title, or even a typo - that you want to quickly and efficiently correct, without having to reach out to the Ambassador and wait for them to action an update.
You can find out more about how to edit and update Student and Staff Ambassador profiles here.
Updating an Ambassador profile - from Student to Alumni
Alumni Ambassadors are a fantastic resource - giving an overview of the student experience from application to graduation. Benefits of using Alumni Ambassadors include:
Authentic voices: Alumni provide credible, first-hand stories that resonate with prospects.
Future-focused: They show how higher education leads to real careers and opportunities.
Community signal: Alumni involvement highlights a strong, supportive graduate network.
If you have an Ambassador that would like to continue their Unibuddy duties after graduation as an Alumni, they can either make this change themselves in their own Ambassador profile, or you can change this for them. To do so, follow these simple steps:
Log into your University Dashboard.
Select the Buddies tab on the navigation panel, and select Manage.
Select the Ambassador either by clicking their profile picture thumbnail or their first name. This will open a preview of their profile.
Click Edit Profile in the top right.
Under Ambassador Type, Student will likely be highlighted in blue. To switch their profile to an Alumni Ambassador, just click Alumni.
Scroll down, and click Save.
Of course, if Alumni is already highlighted in blue, they have gone ahead and made this change themselves.
