PLEASE NOTE: To host a Live Stream, Unibuddy requires an upload speed of 3.2 Mbps - 5 Mbps. Additionally, having a steady Internet connection is the most important. The Live Events product will adapt frame-rate and quality to the user's connection speed, but can’t help in the case when a user's Internet disconnects entirely.

If you are the host of a Livestream session, you can present by following the steps below:

Setting Up Your Stream

1. After you have logged into your Live Event, navigate to the Livestream feed in the left sidebar.

2. Allow use of camera/microphone. When you first open the Livestream feed, Google will ask permission to access your Camera and Microphone. Click Allow on the pop-up message. Both dropdowns will then auto-populate, then click Save. If Google does not ask, you can select the camera icon near the top right-hand side of the navigation bar.

3. Click Stream Setup, then select the desired camera and microphone you would like to use.


Your camera feed and audiometer will be displayed, but no other users can see your camera or hear your microphone at this point. From here you can check the composition of your shot and test your mic.

4. Once you’re happy with your setup, you’re ready to go live! Simply click Continue to stream and your camera and microphone will begin broadcasting into the channel, allowing your audience to see you.

During The Broadcast

You can use the on screen controls to turn your camera or microphone on/off.

From here, you can also choose to share your screen with your audience if you so wish.

1. To share your screen, click the Share Screen icon.

2. A dialog box will appear - from this screen you may choose to share your entire screen, a particular application window, or a Google Chrome tab. Select what you want to share and then click Share.

3. Your camera feed will be replaced with a live broadcast of your computer screen. To turn off screen sharing, click the share screen icon once more.

4. When you’re ready to end your broadcast, simply click the Stop Stream button - your video will be turned off, and the cover image for the next live session will be shown to the other users.

Ending The Broadcast

If you think your Live Event is due to significantly overrun, you can always ask the university admins running the careers fair to Edit your live sessions so that they better reflect the new running order.

❗ Don’t worry if your broadcast looks as if it is going to overrun the ‘Live Session End Time’. The live sessions are simply a guide for users to know when they can expect live segments to take place. Your broadcast won’t be automatically turned off when the Live Session End time elapses.

Multiple Presenters

🚀 Multiple-presenters can now co-host a live stream in an event 🎉

This means you can:

  • Live stream with up to 4 co-presenters.

  • 1 person can screen share at a given time.

  • Be guided clearly through the setup process and see exactly what your audience can see.

  • Presenters will be able to see the Stream Setup button and feature a message at the top of the page indicating that The max number of hosts has been reached, when there are already 4 people live streaming.

  • As a host, turn your camera and microphone on and off during a session.

  • As a host, you can see your own camera as well as your other hosts.

Here are a few pointers to ensure you have a seamless co-hosting experience:

  • Clear your cache, login, and out to avoid an error message appearing when you start your live stream.

  • Any host can join at any time (unless there are already 4 streaming), regardless of the sessions.

  • The audience will always see the presenter's camera under a screen share.

  • The chat can't be viewed in full screen mode.

  • On mobile, users can rotate their phone using the native feature to full screen. On some larger devices (ie. iPhone XR), they can enjoy the chat and larger stream view side by side.

💡 When there is a host already streaming and a new host takes control and starts streaming, the previous host will receive an alert that 'another host is now hosting the video stream' and is automatically redirected to view the new stream.


Did this answer your question?